Stress-relieving Sketches

The intensity of work has been increasing over the last month, with my annual report due, my supervisory board meeting next Thursday, and my first research cruise in about 2 weeks time. There has been stacks of paperwork to fill in for this cruise, from risk assessments to medical checks, on top of trying to pack everything we’ll need. I’ve never been on one of these cruises before, so this whole preparation process has been a bit of a baptism of fire. All our equipment is now packed and shipped to Southampton, where it will meet us again on the boat in the port at Liverpool. That has been a huge weight off my shoulders, and I feel I can now actually be excited about this trip. I know it’ll be lots of hard work, but what an experience! This first one goes around the UK and the European coastal shelf, so I’m hoping to find lots of marine mammals and interesting sea birds.

So, with all this work going on, I’ve been glad to find time to de-stress with some sketching. There’s not much to say about them, except that they’ve been very therapeutic. I have some others, which are animals (birds mainly), but they’re on paper and I have no scanner.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

That’s about all I have to say for the moment. If you want to see the full sized version of the sketches, I will put them on my deviantART account soon (I made it for that very purpose), which is linked in the sidebar. I’ve got to get back to analysing data (joyous), so will leave you with news that the swan’s eggs still haven’t hatched! I will keep you posted on that though.

2 thoughts on “Stress-relieving Sketches

    • Thanks a bunch! But I think photography is much the same thing as making a piece of art, there is a certain image you want your viewer to see in a specific way. In art you can distort figures, or use different colour palettes or techniques of using a brush, and in photography you can crop and set the colours and get a certain angle… And I think your photos are lovely! 😀 Sorry, that was a bit ramble-y!

Leave a Reply

