Research Cruise in Pictures

So I had an idea that if I shrunk down a handful of photos to a fairly small size, I could probably successfully upload them on my slow connection. I’ve definitely been itching to show you all some pictures, so I’m giving it a go! Click on the thumbnails to get a slightly larger picture.

In the last few days, the weather has been wonderful. The sky has been clear blue, and the water incredibly calm. It’s starting to change as we move south, we are currently coming up to Plymouth for our boat transfer, and will be heading towards the Bay of Biscay in the next few days. We’ve been warned there’s going to be rough weather down there!

Even this morning, I can feel the boat rocking more than it has done recently, and it was grey and miserable outside. The horizon is lost in a haze of mist, and even the sea is a steel grey colour. Still, I’ve been lucky to see some of the amazing coastlines of the British Isles, and I’ve come to realise that the vast majority of people who live in the UK probably don’t realise how very beautiful their home group of islands really is.


And of course, as we’ve been at most 20 miles from the coast, I’ve been spoilt for wildlife. I mentioned previously that I saw some common dolphins, but I saw some again yesterday morning. I had to be up at 2am to help with the sampling effort, and was rewarded with a playful dolphin next to the boat. There are plenty of seabirds too, they actually follow the ship around. I imagine they can conserve their energy by gliding along the slip stream it creates. Whenever the ship stops, the birds stop too and plop down in the water. We then start our sampling under the watchful gaze of our miniature feathered armada.

Well, as that was quite successful, I shall try to include pictures in my next updates! I’ll also try updating more frequently as we’re going to be cruising past a lot of different countries in the next week or so. I’ll also do a few more science-based posts, like explaining ocean acidification and some of the methods we use. I’ve got to run back to the lab now, so need to sign off. Also, do remember that WordPress just introduced a feature to let people comment on blogs with their Facebook or Twitter accounts, so please do!

4 thoughts on “Research Cruise in Pictures

Leave a Reply

