My Return To Blogging

Hello. It’s certainly been a while. I’ve had quite a busy year, and since my last entry on this blog, I’ve been to the Arctic Circle and the Southern Ocean. It was quite the adventure. My travels to the poles were to investigate the effects of ocean acidification on plankton, but there was plenty of macrofauna to study, too! I have some ideas for some blog posts, which I will try to publish with some regularity, but for now please feast your eyes on the wonders of our polar ecosystems.

A snow-capped Arctic volcano, Jan Mayen.
A snow-capped Arctic volcano, Jan Mayen.
Greenland sea ice
Greenland sea ice
The Arctic sends a polar bear to welcome us to the sea ice
The Arctic sends a polar bear to welcome us to the sea ice
Ny-Alesund in Kongsfjorden, Svalbard
Ny-Alesund in Kongsfjorden, Svalbard
Elephant Island, one of the South Shetland Islands and very close to the Antarctic Peninsula
Elephant Island, one of the South Shetland Islands and very close to the Antarctic Peninsula
Chinstrap penguins porpoising
Chinstrap penguins porpoising
The JCR alongside at King Edward Point, South Georgia
The JCR alongside at King Edward Point, South Georgia

I plan on making some detailed posts about some of my experiences, but if you’d like to have a look at more photos, then please check out my Flickr account. I’ll be back, I promise!

2 thoughts on “My Return To Blogging

Leave a Reply

